Back to Main

Faculty Detail    
Campus Address WP P220 Zip 7331
Phone  (205) 934-6421
Other websites

Faculty Appointment(s)
Appointment Type Department Division Rank
Primary  Pathology   Laboratory Medicine Professor
Secondary  Diag & Thx Sci Chair (Org Ret)  Clin Lab Sci Div (Org Ret) Professor Clinical
Center  UAB Ctr for Study of Community Health  UAB Ctr for Study of Community Health Professor

Biographical Sketch 
John A. Smith, b., St. Charles, Missouri (1947); MD (Missouri, 1974), MSc, PhD (Melbourne, 1971 & 1978), MMM (Medical Management) (Tulane, 1998). B.S. in Chemistry (Purdue, 1969); Professor of Pathology, Division of Laboratory Medicine, University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) (1993-); Director, Division of Laboratory Medicine, (UAB) (1993-2013); Clinical Professor, School of Health Professions, (UAB) (1993-present); Senior Scholar, Lister Hill Center for Health Policy, (UAB) (1995-present); Research Fellow, Robert B. Brigham Hospital (1977-79), Intern, Junior & Senior Resident, Brigham & Women's Hospital (1979-82); Research & Clinical Fellow, Massachusetts General Hospital (1982-83); Assistant to Associate Professor of Pathology, Harvard Medical School (1983-92); Executive Director, Merck & Co. (1990-91); Assistant Chief of Staff, UAB Hospital (1996-98); Chair-Elect to Past-Chair, UAB Faculty Senate (2002-2005); Vice President-Elect to Past Vice President, FASEB (2005-2008); Member, Board of Directors, Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB)(1997-2003; 2006-2008); Public Affairs Executive Committee, FASEB (1997-2003); Science Policy Committee (FASEB)(2003-2008); Chair, NIH Subcommittee, FASEB Federal Funding Consensus Conference (2001); Council of Fellows, American College of Physician Executives (2001-2004); National Academy of Sciences Standing Committee on Biodefense (2007-2011); Editor, Current Protocols in Molecular Biology (1985-2016); Editorial Boards: Current Protocols in Molecular Biology (1985-2016), Proteins: Structure Function & Bioinformatics, and Peptide Science; The Distinguished Young Physician Award, University of Missouri Medical Alumni Organization (1991); Distinguished Alumnus Award, Purdue University School of Science (1995); Award of Excellence, University of Alabama Hospital (1998); Special Service Award, American Peptide Society (2001); Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science (2003); D.Sc. (Honoris causa, Purdue University) (2005); Alpha Omega Alpha (2009); author/editor of 216 published papers/patents/reviews including 7 books.

Society Memberships
Organization Name Position Held Org Link
College of American Pathologists  Chair, House of Delegates (Alabama)   
Rotary Club of Birmingham  Member; Paul Harris Fellow (Sapphire)   

Research/Clinical Interest
Clinical Interest Title: Clinical Service & Administration
Biomedical Research: Protein and peptide chemistry; Immune recognition & molecular immunology; Bioinformatics; Health Services Research: Health Care Performance Improvement; Academic Health Center Organization and Management; Laboratory Management: Quality Improvement of Laboratory Services

Selected Publications 
Publication PUBMEDID
Hobin JA, Deschamps AM, Bockman R, Cohen S, Dechow P, Eng C, Galey W, Morris M, Prabhakar S, Raj U, Rubenstein P, Smith JA, Stover P, Sung N, Talman W, Galbraith R. Engaging basic scientists in translational research: identifying opportunities, overcoming obstacles. J Translational Medicine 2012; 10:72-98
Ausubel FM, Brent R, Kingston RE, Moore DD, Seidman J, Smith JA, Struhl K, eds. Current Protocols in Molecular Biology, New York: J Wiley & Sons, 1987-2016.   
Ausubel FM, Brent R, Kingston RE, Moore DD, Seidman J, Smith JA, Struhl K, eds. Short Protocols in Molecular Biology, New York:J Wiley & Sons, 1989; 1992; 1995; 1999; 2002.   
Chang Y H, Teichert U, Smith JA. Purification and characterization of a methionine aminopeptidase from Saccharomyces cerevisiae. J Biol Chem 1990; 265:19892-19897.   
Lee F-JS, Lin L W, Smith JA. Identification of methionine N- acetyltransferase from Saccharomyces cerevisiae. J Biol Chem 1990; 265:3603-3606.   
Raychowdhury R, Niles JL, McCluskey RT, Smith JA. Autoimmune target in Heymann nephritis is a glycoprotein with homology to the LDL receptor. Science 1989; 244:1163-1165.   
Guillet J-G, Lai M-Z, Briner TJ, Buus S, Sette A, Grey HM, Smith JA, Gefter ML. Immunological self, nonself discrimination. Science 1987; 235:868-870.   
Guillet J-G, Lai M-Z, Briner TJ, Smith JA, Gefter ML. The interaction of peptide antigens and class II major histocompatibility antigens as studied by T cell activation. Nature 1986; 324:260-262   
Seidman CE, Bloch K, Klein K, Smith JA, Seidman JG. Structures of the human and mouse atrial natriuretic factor genes. Science 1984; 226:1206-1209   
Seidman CE, Duby A, Choi E, Graham R, Haber E, Homcy C, Smith JA, Seidman JG. The structure of rat preproatrial natriuretic factor as defined by a cDNA clone. Science 1984; 225:324-326   
Smith JA, Hurrell JGR, Leach SJ. A novel method for delineating antigenic determinants: peptide synthesis and radioimmunoassay using the same solid support. Immunochemistry 1977; 14:565-8   

Laboratory Medicine, Protein Science, Quality Improvement, Organizational Performance Management