Back to Main

Faculty Detail    
Associate Professor, Division of Cardiovascular Disease
Campus Address FOT 930 Zip 3400
Other websites PubMed Listings

Faculty Appointment(s)
Appointment Type Department Division Rank

Biographical Sketch 
Takumi Yamada obtained his medical doctorate from the University of Nagoya in Japan. He completed residency training in internal medicine and fellowships in cardiology, interventional cardiology and electrophysiology at the Nagoya Dai-ni Red Cross Hospital where he served as chief fellow. In 2006, Dr. Yamada came to UAB as a post-doctoral fellow, and he joined the section of electrophysiology of UAB as Instructor of Medicine in 2008. Dr. Yamada was awarded an Alabama medical license as Distinguished Professor of Medicine at UAB in 2010. He then joined the clinical electrophysiology faculty as Assistant Professor of Medicine in 2011 and was promoted to Associate Professor of Medicine with Tenure in 2014. Dr. Yamada served as a member of the 2014 EHRA/HRS/APHRS Expert Consensus Statement on Ventricular Arrhythmias. He also serves as an international associate editor of the Journal of Arrhythmia, the official journal of the Japanese Heart Rhythm Society and Asia Pacific Heart Rhythm Society.

Research/Clinical Interest
Dr. Yamada’s research interests and activities have developed from his clinical experience in the non-pharmacological treatment of cardiac arrhythmias including catheter ablation of cardiac tachyarrhythmias and implantation of pacemakers and defibrillators. As a cardiologist and electrophysiologist in Japan, he started performing catheter ablation of atrial fibrillation as one of the pioneers in the field. After he moved to UAB in 2006, his research interest and activities extended to all areas of electrophysiology, especially the electrocardiograms, mechanisms and anatomy relevant to ventricular tachycardia. The electrophysiology group at UAB has described several new syndromes of idiopathic ventricular tachycardia including ventricular tachycardia arising from the summit of the left ventricle, the papillary muscles of the left ventricle, the epicardium at the crux of the ventricles, and the non-coronary sinus of Valsalva.